How to decide on a blog’s title

A very good question that I don’t know how to answer, to be honest.

This blog was born out of my need to have some space where I can write down my notes, reflections and questions about a very strange assortment of subjects: science, literature, language, translation, the transfer of useful knowledge between thinking and living, etc. (This “etc.” is unusually large, I can assure you.)

In fact, this began as a way of making me write down texts about my PhD thesis subject. I thought about giving this blog the title “Science in Literature”. But that would be too specific. I read a whole lot more than books on “science in literature”. In fact, I read much more than I should about other things, since I should be writing my thesis, period.

But let me tell you this: we don’t have a lot of time to think and read and reflect and go living side by side. We will all end up dead. So, let’s not limit ourselves too much.

It is eerily funny that after deciding on naming this blog “Reading, Thinking, Living” I googled those three words and found this quote by Sylvia Plath:

So much working, reading, thinking, living to do. A lifetime is not long enough. Nor youth to old age long enough. Immortality and permanence be damned. Sure I want them, but they are nonexistent, and won’t matter when I rot underground. All I want to say is: I made the best of a mediocre job. (Karen V. Kukil (Hg.): The Unabrigded Journals of Sylvia Plath. New York 2000. S. 149.) Found here.

Yes, that’s exactly this: we won’t be here forever. I want to understand the world so furiously that I can’t stop reading and thinking. And then we must keep living. How to do this as well as possible?

Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Reading, Thinking, Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

